It’s Raining, It’s Pouring!!!!


Hoorah, for the rains have finally made their appearance,and in full gusto, may I say. This morning, the city took a beating. And I mean a beating! Around 6 am, I could hear the down pour…at first I thought I was dreaming, because I usually hear the chirpy sparrows talking to each other, welcoming the dawn. But when I opened my eyes, I couldn’t believe my ears!! What I was praying for, had finally manifested itself.

I got out of bed, the baby in my arms, and like a woman who had lost all her senses, I ran from room to room, opening all the windows, as wide as possible. The whiffs of that musky scent that permeates the air, with the first showers, blew me away. I could not believe how excited I was to see and hear the rain; thunderstorms accompanied the showers, setting the stage for the monsoon seasons.

There was also a drop in the temperature, making it feel as if a natural air conditioner was on. It was really cool, and not humid and sultry, as it has been for the last one month.

If there is a god almighty, I thank him/her/it for some compassion and mercy that has been showered on this city. Mucho thank you, and welcome home, Mumbai rains!

Leave a Reply

