Pitter Patter, Pitter Patter


This morning saw the arrival of the first showers, the onset of the monsoon season which brings with it a riot of colors, sounds, and smells. It is also a time when schools re-open; and while it’s a warm feeling knowing that there will be children out and about, scuttling to school and back, to after school activities, to the play ground, and the like, it is also an irritating feeling knowing that there will be more commotion on the roads and more noise pollution, in the early hours of the morning.

May is a conflicting month for me, and has been for the last 2 years. While the temperatures are at their peak, the humidity leaving you drenched and drained by the end of the day, the quietude that I experience in my neighborhood, is a much needed break to the senses. In the mornings, it is deafeningly quiet till about 8 am, and I enjoy the morning chattering of the birds, as I wake up to a new morn. I know all of this is going to come to an end, come mid-June, and I will have to mentally and physically prepare myself for the inevitable.

I guess the only panacea for the onslaught of auditory pollution is to pray that the rain gods make their visit every early morning, so that I wake up not to the hustle and bustle of children going to school, but to the pitter patter of the Mumbai rains. Mumbai is notorious for its rains, and the thought of waking up to the splatter of rain, beating down on this maddening city, as I welcome the new day, leaves me with a warm and fuzzy feeling.

Leave a Reply

