Farewell 2012…Hello 2013


The 31st day of 2012 in Mumbai has arrived. There is nothing unusual about today, as the city goes about its usual business, building its way to the crescendo……12:00 am, January 1st, 2013. It is a little over 6 pm and the firecrackers have already started, which is quite annoying and frustrating, because it does nothing for me, except gives me a taste of the evening ahead.

But more than commenting on the revelry and celebrations that are going to happen, I would like to take a moment and comment on the distress that some of the Mumbaikers are experiencing with the recent events in Delhi. As you may already know, on December 16th, a 23 year old girl and her fiance, boarded a bus at 9 pm, after watching a movie – The Life of Pi, to be precise. The girl was gang raped on the bus and her fiance could barely defend her. The rest of the details are too gory to describe. The least said, the better. She struggled for her life and was flown to Singapore for multiple organ transplants; and on December 29, she passed away, and hopefully, not in vain.

Even Wikipedia has an entry on the case: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012_Delhi_gang_rape_case

Delhi is certainly in mourning and there is a certain level of sadness nationwide. I myself, am not in the best of spirits to indulge in the senses in the name of New Years. The nation has woken and I, amongst the millions of other people, pray that stronger measures and policies are created that protect women and women’s rights in India.

On another note, when I personally reflect on the year gone by, it’s been my first complete “chronological” year in Mumbai. Like all other life transitions, this move to Mumbai and the year 2012, have had their fair share of ups and downs. I have experienced the death and revival of my spirit, all in one year; the celebrations and grieving of my life left behind, in the last 12 months. It’s been a journey alright, and moving to Mumbai has  taught me many a lessons about myself.

Like 2012, I suspect the year 2013 will have many a more lessons that it will throw my way. I only hope that it also provides me the courage and strength to deal with the new year’s challenges. We live in very challenging and demanding times, and the world is turning topsy-turvy with every minute.

This New Year, let us pledge to take a moment or two (everyday) to be kind to ourselves and to others. For it really is in giving, that we receive.

Leave a Reply

