Feeling Troubled


Although I have much acclimated to the humdrum of life in Mumbai, and I know that I still have a long way to go, there is a certain restlessness that is haunting me, eating into my spirit everyday. I think a great deal of it has to do with the noise pollution that is incessant, and I am exposed to a lot more of it in my new place. The constant nagging background of loud honking and people chattering, drives me crazy. One year later, I still yearn for the silence that many a times brought my soul peace, in San Francisco.

I just can’t put my finger on it, but there is also something else that is stirring inside of me, making me feel even more alienated and strange. Perhaps I have some inkling as to what it is, but do not have the courage to admit it. Whatever it is, there are some days where I just feel down.

Perhaps all this has to do with the fact that I have spent 1 year in Mumbai? Maybe I am being triggered by all the recent memories of our departure from the USA, my wounds resurfacing, as if it were only yesterday? Maybe I miss all my friends and my life in San Francisco?

I am not entirely sure what is going on. I do know that I am not going to give in to this feeling, but be hopeful that I will come out of this gloom. I am wishing on a star tonight – thought it would be appropriate to post the pictures of a string of stars that were hanging during last Christmas at a university campus.

Leave a Reply

