Home, at Last!


Last weekend was one of the most exciting weekends of my life. Exciting and nerve-wracking, all the same. My husband and I spent all of Saturday moving our stuff from our rental apartment to our renovated one. Man, do we have a lot of stuff or what! By the time we were done with hauling our stuff, we were dog tired. We knew we’d have to wake up the next morning and unpack all of it, as much as possible. But the move was smooth and the movers were efficient, trust worthy, and very obliging, a welcome change from some of the shoddy experiences we have had so far.

It was daunting to be in our new place. I was thrilled and nervous, all at once. I could get the strong smell of freshly painted walls and struggled to keep my eyes open as the paint stung my eyes to tears. Added to that, the dust and fur (I love my cat, but I could open a fur factory with the amount she sheds!) led to my sinuses acting up; the next two days I was sneezing galore.

But I tell you something. There is nothing like being in a place you like to call home. Now I feel I have finally arrived; I have landed on my feet and am ready to plant roots deep into Mother India’s soil. One year it will be on September 5th, and I feel like I have come full circle. I now feel at peace in my new abode, happy with my newly attained luxuries, reveling in the pain and efforts of creating and co-creating a new sanctuary for my self – a place I am happy to call home.

I wish I could say the same about my cat, though. While I am enjoying the pleasures of my new house, Maitri has been having a hard time adjusting to yet another new place. She has been hiding behind boxes, howling in the middle of the night and in the early dawn, and following me around the house, as if in desperation to go back to the rental place. This morning I found her sleeping in the bath tub, perhaps a new discovery for her, a stronger source for solace.

I am still living amongst boxes and am surrounded by them. Everyday, I attack 1-2 boxes and try to unpack as much as possible. My goal is to clear up the mess completely by this weekend.

It’s good to be at home and I am now feeling more comfortable with life in Mumbai. So watch out, Mumbai. Here I come!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nusrat
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:31:18

    Hey Rosh I am so pleased for you !!!
    Guess what yesterday I came across some of our college pics those were the days man!!!miss you guys !!!

    Reply

    • Dr. Suri
      Sep 03, 2012 @ 21:51:24

      Thanks Nush – yes, it feels great to be in a place you can call your own! And yes, college days were the days!! Hope you and the family are doing well.

      Reply

  2. SFDave
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 20:30:13

    That’s awesome..congrats on the new place. Do you have any pictures?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

