I do not know what to make of all this madness!


My last post on the 24th of February was me agonizing about how winter was officially over, at least in my books, and how summer is slowly but surely creeping in. I take all that back because, in the last few days, the weather has been unusually pleasant and cool. It has been so pleasant that I do not know what to make of it! I have gone from turning on the air conditioner in the middle of the afternoon to being in a room without a fan in a matter of days. What games the weather gods are playing, are a mystery to me.

Of course, through all my whining and complaining of the menacing summer that is fast approaching, my maid still thinks it is quite cool and wishes she wore a sweater during the day. I do not comprehend how, for the life of me, 35 degrees Celsius is “cool” in her books. It is really beyond my imagination and I envy her capacity to think this way: thinking it is winter when it is a balmy day outside.

It went from being 35 degrees Celsius at night to 24 degrees Celsius, in a matter of days. It’s as if I blogged about my weather woes on the 24th and the weather gods decided to show me otherwise, and dropped the temperature by 10 degrees. I have stated many a times in my post that this city has the capacity to drive me schizophrenic; drive me crazy! And it’s doing a pretty darn good job so far, be it the weather, the people, the traditions, the work ethics, corruption, and so on.

Life in Mumbai always keeps me on my toes…..how can it not, when according to the 2011 census, the population of Mumbai was 12,479,608? When you have so many people in your face after living in quiet, unpopulated San Francisco, it is hard to not be kept on your toes constantly. Wikipedia quotes that, “The population density is estimated to be about 20,482 persons per square kilometre.” And this is the “official” number….only god and god alone knows how many people actually live, thrive, and breed in Mumbai.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Resh
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 22:23:37

    1. It’s interplanetary magnetism and an ugly picture in space according to BBC.
    2. When there are dead souls around a place is often cold or there are sudden chills in the air.
    3. Maybe your maid has poor nutrition thus constantly cold.
    4. Maybe you are awfully hot in the hormones or people around think you are *wink
    5. Bollywood is getting at you! And its abode is Bombay. It explains everything we call madness.
    6. YOU ARE NOT ALONE! WE HEAR YOU! 😀 ….schizophrenic enough?
    cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

