Taking a break from the city…..Sure feels good!


Every time I return to Mumbai from Goa, I feel schizophrenic. In the last three months, I have had to go to Goa for a family event and on both times that I have returned to Mumbai, I have found it difficult to re-adjust. It really boils down to the noise….the noise from the traffic, the people, the incessant honking. I think I can safely say that I have kind of been acculturated to the population and the sheer number of people who I am surrounded by at any given point in time. But, the noise, is still quite difficult for me to handle. And, even if I am alone in my apartment, I still feel like there are a 100 people sitting with me because of the high levels of noise from the streets. The peace and quiet of Goa was much needed respite from the hustle and bustle of Mumbai.

In any case, this time round when I visited Goa, I had a fairly relaxed time. It was good to be with family of all ages, coming together from various parts of the country to participate in the family event. Of course, even though I am not big on family, what made this trip doable was the spaciousness of my aunt’s house. Here is a picture of her house in Goa that I so enjoy staying at every time I visit:

Aunt's house in Goa

Aunt's house in Goa

Back of the House: The maid pulling the cothes off the clothes line - Yup! The good ol' fashioned way.

Back of the House: The maid pulling the clothes off the clothes line - Yup! The good ol' fashioned way.

One of the things that striked me about Goa were the beautiful, palatial houses that people owned. I always knew that Goa was littered with these magnificent abodes, but it only became most apparent to me on this trip. Most of the houses are well designed and maintained, their lawns manicured, and each house looks better than the other! I am sharing some pictures of some of the houses that were on my aunt’s lane:

I love the color of this house and the way in which it is tucked in amongst some lovely, cozy, strikingly beautiful coconut palms:

After a long, long time, I re-visited the famous Colva Beach which is known and loved for its white sand. The entire beach is flanked by coconut trees that make you feel you are in heaven. Simply divine! Have a look folks:

Appraoching Colva beach

approaching Colva beach

The sunset at this beach was spectacular and I really felt blessed, as if I was given a gift from the gods, a gift I so seldom receive and so greatly cherish:

Splendid Sun!

Splendid Sun!

Fishing Boat coasting on the waters of the Arabian Sea

Fishing Boat coasting on the waters of the Arabian Sea

Here’s the sunset from the car park which took my breath away:

The sunset was not the only treat at Colva Beach. For the first time in my life, I had the pleasure of seeing, touching, and holding starfish that kept being washed away on the shore with the high tide. I was thrilled to see these little angels simply basking away on the sand and was mesmerized by their hazy blue color:

The underside of the Starfish

The underside of the Starfish

Here is a picture of several starfish just hanging out, hopefully enjoying themselves on the sand:

My husband and I went with a few other people who were also visiting Goa from Mumbai and when they saw the starfish, it was as if they hadn’t seen anything like it before. It was hilarious just listening to their remarks of amazement; their naiveté was sweet and touching, like little children who were in wonderment with god’s creation. Here are a couple of snaps of our little beach group:

Me and my crew!

Me and my crew!

I couldn’t resist taking some snaps of the a pack of dogs, literally a pack, just chillin on the white sands of Colva beach. It’s India, and there are dogs everywhere, even on the beach. But I love it!

Definitely good advertisement for the Water Activities Sign

Definitely good advertisement for the Water Activities Sign

The Lone Wolf

The Lone Wolf

On one of the days, we meandered through Margaon City, which is where all the action is. We chanced upon a fair that was happening in the heart of the city, where there were stalls galore and shopping a plenty. Everything you could imagine were being sold at the fair from clothes, to bed spreads, to brass, steel, and copper utensils, to clay planters and plants, eatables, and on and on. I was really shocked to see people selling machetes on the street and you can see what I mean for your self:

The line of stalls that littered the streets of Margaon city:

We also took a walk into the market where a host of veggies, eatables, cloth material, shoes, and all other sorts of goodies were sold at real cheap prices. We came upon some delicious, spicy red chillies whose smell permeated every olfactory gland. I am not kidding!

Red Chillies piled up for sale

Red Chillies piled up for sale

Here is an image of tamarind that were also piled up and tasted sooooo yummy and fresh!

Tamrind, tamrind, and some more tamrind!!!

tamarind, tamarind, and some more tamarind!!!

Being in goa was certainly a well deserved and much needed break, especially for my body and spirit that feels worn down from living in Mumbai. There is a stark difference between the two places, but I must confess that the solitude of Goa would be my cup of tea only to a certain extent. I would certainly run back to Mumbai for the city life I am so accustomed to and appreciate.

Hope you have a great weekend and if you would like to wish on a star, try this one. It may just be worth it!

Wish upon a star

Wish upon a star

Leave a Reply

