My First Gastro Attack…


…. and I feel like I am dying! I don’t know what caused it or who caused it; all I know is that the toilet and I have gotten more intimate with each other than I would have ever liked. It all started on Friday, where I felt I was coming down with a fever, but did not have the runs. On Saturday morning I was fine and still a little tired, but was well enough to go have lunch at a family friend’s home. The lunch was delicious, the company was fun, and we all had a good time catching up.

I got home in the sweltering heat of the afternoon – yes, October has begun and I have yet to brace myself for astronomical temperatures – and as usual, had a shower, turned on the AC, and crashed. When i woke up in the evening, I was in for the time of my life. I have no idea what did me in, but I was suffering. Anything I ate did not stay in my belly and I was expelling every morsel, like there was no tomorrow! Even during the wee hours of the morning, I visited the loo and by the time I woke up on Saturday morning, the whole saga re-began. To reiterate, NOTHING I ate sat well with me, right from tea and toast, to a banana, to two bites of a “Bombay sandwich”.  To add to that, I had a fever for 2 days and feel terribly week and exhausted. It’s a miracle I can even blog. But what choice do I really have? I have been under house arrest for the entire weekend sipping on coconut water and electrolyte syrups. I am bored to death!

In any case, lesson well learned; you can’t always know what the source of your gastro attack is, but having such an attack in an inevitable part of living in Mumbai for a newbie. I believe, with all the other things I have been initiated with, this too is Mumbai’s way of, not so graciously, initiating me into the mix.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Matilda Jagger
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 23:52:39

    My first time here. Nice blog and super post. Well done.

    Reply

  2. Dr. Suri
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 23:16:28

    Thanks, Matilda. Is this your first time in Mumbai or visiting the blog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

