Day 12 in Mumbai – And I Am STILL Alive


Yes, I am still alive and still have a will to continue my pursuit of acculturation in “amchi Mumbai” (“our Mumbai” in Marathi), which still doesn’t feel very “amchi” to me.  There is something to be said for good neighbors, though, in Mumbai. You can call them at any time of the day or just drop in when you like or even invite yourself for a meal…..it’s all good. That is certainly one thing I appreciate about living in the metropolis. Life is greatly bettered when you have neighbors who are more like family to you than just friends.

On the other hand, I continue to wait for MTNL (the telephone/internet company) to produce a router which I can use so that my laptop is not chained to a mere 2 feet of cable that forces me to sit in only one position every time I need the internet. I was told that it should be done tomorrow – I need to see to believe.

Again, the word inefficiency continues to echo in my ears. For example, the plumber has visited our house 3 times already in the last 5 days. Why? Because he could not get the job done right the first time around. It took him 3 tries and much supervision and inspection to complete the job. What is even more frustrating is the audacity to demand “labor charges” every time he comes in to fix the same god damn problem. The third time around I refused to pay the labor charges and the plumber did not attempt to protest.

In the end, there is something to be said about the idiom: What doesnt kill you, only makes you stronger. For now, I am still alive and still going strong!

Leave a Reply

