Moving to India!


Today is August 26th, and my husband, cat, and I will all be shipping ourselves over to a whole new world on September 1st. They call it India. Although I am of Indian origin, and have family in India, the idea of moving back to India is quite daunting for me. India is a great mother, but she can also be a beast! She forces you to push yourself to your limits which can inevitably make your or break you. And she made something of me. Yes, she did. When i lived in Mumbai for 4 years, doing my undergraduate studies in psychology, I learned so much about myself. Prior to that, I lived a pretty sheltered life in Dubai where I didn’t really have to think or do much for myself. It was mostly taken care of by my parents. If there one thing that i am grateful for with my 4 short years in Mumbai, it is my ability to think on my feet and to tackle all that life has to throw my way in a (sometimes) graceful and stoic manner.

Living in San Francisco for 10 years and enjoying a much higher quality of life, it makes me nervous to return to India, the motherland. She hasn’t felt like home in a decade, and home is where the heart is. Her people seem alien to me and her ways of “getting things done” seem inefficient and complicated to me. It is going to be quite interesting to see how I navigate through these waters of change: moving from the relaxed and easy going life of San Francisco (where the weather was like being in paradise) to the fast-paced, extremely humid, humdrum of Mumbai.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tony Fernandes
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 05:38:10

    Wish you and Bharat all the best. It might be challenging. But life’s like that. You will eventually get there!

    Reply

  2. an admirer
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 18:57:21

    I am sure India will embrace all of you as you will embrace all of her…and as you are now a citizen of the world, living back in Mumbai will enrich your wisdom and knowledge…. After all, India is the GREAT mother

    Reply

Leave a Reply

